top of page


South Texas Food Bank Names Attorney John Solis New Board President

Right to left: New Board President John R. Solis and Food Bank Executive Director Alma Boubel present now-Past President Hugo Flores with an award in recognition and appreciation of his work as board president.

MARCH 2022 - Attorney John R. Solis was introduced as the new president of The South Texas Food Bank Board of Directors during the board’s monthly meeting that took place on Wednesday, March 6th.


Solis has been part of the STFB Board since 2014 and has served on different capacities and committees.


“I want to extend my gratitude to the current board members for their support, as well as to my predecessor, Hugo Flores, who did a great job leading the organization these past two years,” the new board president said.


A San Antonio native, John R. Solis has called Laredo his home since 2000. A renowned attorney, Solis graduated from Estancia High School in Costa Mesa, California and received his undergraduate degree from St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas.  He continued his education at the University of Houston Law Center where he received his law degree in 1997. To date, he has successfully represented over 6, 000 individuals. 


Besides The South Texas Food Bank Board, John Solis also serves on the Angel of Hope Board and devotes his time to the Laredo Junior Golf Association.  He has two endowments which have been established to help charitable causes and people in need in Webb County, the community he loves so much.     


Solis is married to Alexandra Colessides Solis and they have two children, Cassia and Johnny Solis. 


 “I look forward to working with Mr. John Solis,” commented Alma Boubel, Executive Director of The South Texas Food Bank. “He is a hardworking, compassionate individual who is very committed to our mission of fighting hunger in South Texas.”


Solis will serve a two-year term as Board President. His tenure will conclude on March 2024.


As a 501 ( c ) (3)  non-profit organization, The South Texas Food Bank is overseen by a volunteer board composed of individuals not only from Laredo or Webb County, but also from other counties that are part of the food bank’s service area.  The goal of the food bank board is to develop policy for the Food Bank, act as community representatives for the organization, and to help foster community relations that will help the Food Bank accomplish its mission and goals.


The 2022-2023 Board of Directors Members are:


  • John Solis, President      

  • Kevin Romo - President -Elect

  • Fernando Ortega, Treasurer

  • Aide Brooks, Secretary

  • Laura Narvaez, Historian

  • Hugo Flores, Past President

  • Leslie G. Benavides

  • Anna Benavides-Galo

  • Steven Edward Cruz

  • Robert Cuellar

  • Gabriela De Leon

  • Christina Garcia

  • Doug Howland

  • Gerardo Salinas

  • Romeo Salinas

  • Juan Carlos Vazquez


Advisory Members

  • Romelia Cardona

  • Galo Garcia

  • Annie Dodier

  • Valerie Rubalcaba


About the South Texas Food Bank

The South Texas Food Bank is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to alleviate hunger in the eight-county service area in the south Texas area by collecting and distributing food through partner agencies and programs while creating awareness and educating the community on the realities of hunger throughout their eight-county service area: Webb, Zapata, Jim Hogg, Maverick, Dimmit, Val Verde, Kinney and Starr counties.


The South Texas Food Bank is a proud member of Feeding America, Feeding Texas and the United Way of Laredo.


bottom of page